The Secret’s Out – I’m Writing!

So, after ten months of writing, I finally decided to tell my family what I was doing.  It’s been pretty easy to keep it a secret.  I live in Nevada and they live in Wisconsin.  Nobody really digs too deep about how I spend my time and to be fair, I don’t either.  They could be writing books in their spare time and I wouldn’t know about it.  It was actually the 24 hour contest that made me finally decide to tell them.  I was so excited about it and it really sparked my creativity and I just wanted to talk about it.

I hadn’t told my family because I wasn’t sure how they would react.  Would they be supportive?  Would they think it’s just a pipe dream and that I’ll never make anything of it?  When I started out, I had precious little confidence to begin with.  I had the confidence to do it, just not the confidence to withstand any criticism.  Any sort of response that I couldn’t do it and I would have believed it and quit.  Yeah I know, I shouldn’t care what others think and I usually don’t – except when it comes to family.  Correction – except when it comes to my mom and sister.  Not only that, but this is really important to me and if they looked at it as just a whacky scheme my confidence would have been shot.  Thankfully my husband, who encouraged me to start writing in the first place, has been very supportive which is a huge help.

But I finally gathered the courage and told my mom and she told my sister and they were both very encouraging.  I don’t regret my decision not to tell them earlier, and I’m glad they reacted the way they did but I still prefer not to talk about it too much.  Writing for me is a private thing and I don’t like to discuss ideas or whatever it is I am working on.  Once I finish a story then I like to talk all about it, but until then I prefer to keep my mouth shut.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Secret’s Out – I’m Writing!

  1. D.J. Lutz says:

    I prefer to keep my writing private until I am done, also. Family tends to offer their ideas on where the story should go, making it more of their story than mine. All well intentioned, but… Once I am done, I post the story or send them a copy and at that point, critiques are welcome. Peer review is different. In-progress review by other writers are often helpful for me.
    Best of luck on your writing!

Leave a Reply

