Real Life Characters

The other day, I spent the morning reflecting on people from my past.  Writing down anything I could remember about them to help me when I need to think of character traits.  Some of the best memories I have are of the people I worked with when I was a waitress/bartender at the Rio Grande Cafe in Bethesda, MD.

There was one guy who went by the name of Chuckie Love.  He was funny, although sometimes you had to just roll your eyes.  Another guy who was kind of reserved, for no reason in particular would suddenly start doing his impression of Chewbaca.  And another who when he got bored, would go up to people’s faces and mess up their eyebrows.  There were many more wildly interesting people — but alas, I do not have the space (or attention span) to write about them.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to use any of these quirks in my writing, but it sure was fun reminiscing.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Real Life Characters

  1. taureanw says:

    That is a great idea! Characters that have quirks like that seem so much more real! I’ll have to adopt this the next time i am trying to introduce/create a new character.

  2. D.J. Lutz says:

    I will have to try this. After working as a bouncer in a country bar for several years, several years ago, I met my share of odd creatures, too. I hesitate to write about them because I figure no one would believe they really existed!

  3. TiffanyK says:

    I know what you mean. I have a pretty vivid imagination but I couldn’t even dream of some of the stuff people do in real life.

Leave a Reply

