Too Many Distractions!

Ugh!  I can’t get any writing done right now because they planting trees right outside our door – palm trees.  A couple of months ago they uprooted three trees because they were planted too close to the sidewalks and homes (I live in a condo) so the roots were starting to crack the concrete, or they soon would have.  I don’t know who’s genius idea it was to plant trees next to the sidewalks and homes and plant bushes out in the middle of nowhere, but that’s another story.  For the last six years, we had watched these skinny little sticks that couldn’t stand on their own, grow into towering trees only to be dug up and chopped up.

Not only are they making a lot of noise, but the dogs are barking at them and the floor is vibrating from their digging.  I’m looking outside and it appears they are digging up a leftover root that they didn’t get the last time all this commotion went on.

Unfortunately, the trees are the only issue with this place.  The builder was either really stupid, a shyster, or both.  We have a rock wall blocking are home from the road, but the rocks have become unstable and some of the top ones are starting to come out.  Part of this rock wall is under our driveway, so if it falls, our driveway could get messed up.  The community has also sued the builder once or twice for defects within the units too.

It’s usually a pretty nice place to live though.  It’s quiet.  We live in the mountains and we’re only five minutes away from Lake Mead where we like to go kayaking.  The big horn sheep even come down the mountain late spring through early winter to graze in the park right across the street.  Once they were even right outside our door which is how I got the pictures.On the other hand there are times like today when it is really annoying!  Oh well, I guess I’ll just try and get some work done later.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

