Distractions

Oh the dreaded distractions.  I didn’t need to turn on my computer this morning.  I was going to edit a story that I had printed out yesterday.  There was no need for the computer.  But I turned it on anyway.  I figured I could look at stuff while I was eating breakfast.  It’s kind of difficult to work and eat breakfast at the same time because my desk area is rather small, so what else was there to do?  Well, thirty minutes turned into an hour and one hour turned into two hours and before you know it, I still hadn’t started editing.  

So finally I get started editing and the dogs start bugging me because they want to play.  I just can’t say no to those faces!  It’s been too hot to go for our normal walks lately and probably will be until September or October, so the only exercise they get is playing.  So I tossed the tennis ball around with them for about ten minutes before I got back to editing again.

Oh, but wait, for some reason I have to go on the computer again.  I got caught up looking at something (I don’t even remember what) for another thirty minutes.  After that, it was back to editing again.

Oops.  Now I need some coffee.  I have an espresso machine, so that takes about twenty minutes to make the coffee for me and my husband and then clean up.  Okay, so now I am back to editing.

Wait a minute, I have to look at the computer again.  Ugh!  Back to editing.  Now I’ve finally finished a quick edit, so I decide to type this.  Unfortunately I have to pause to watch the thunderstorm.  We live in Nevada (the desert) so we hardly ever get big rainstorms.  The wind was blowing so hard a tree right outside was parallel to the ground.  Loud cracks of thunder frightened the dogs so they started barking.  It looks like the area is already starting to get flooded.  Oh well.  Back to work.  Until the next distraction.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Distractions

  1. D.J. Lutz says:

    It’s like you have been living my life…scary. Now I know what writers’ retreats are for!

    • TiffanyK says:

      I would love to go on a writers retreat — although I could probably find something to distract me in the middle of nowhere too. Hopefully we can both find a way to stay focused : ).

Leave a Reply

