What Was I Thinking?

An odd thing happened to me today.  I discovered that I wasn’t writing for myself anymore.  Instead I was trying to predict what people wanted to read and that’s just not me.  I can’t write like that.

There was a time when I posted happily, just excited that I wrote something.  When people started to read I was overjoyed.  I received responses to posts and thought wow, people actually care what I have to say.

At some point, writing became tedious.  I was constantly wracking my brain trying to figure out what to write.  It had to be something good.  Something people would read and hopefully respond to.  I even started asking my husband to read what I wrote just to make sure it sounded all right.

I wanted to be a helpful resource.  But who am I to give advice?  I’m just a girl who loves to read and write.  Life advice I can give.  Writing advice… not so much.  I wanted to get some followers and hopefully help my writing career, but let’s face it, I’m socially awkward and not particularly adept at knowing what others want to read.  Heck, I don’t even know what I like to read.

Sure I visit others’ blogs and think I can do that too.  Maybe I could.  And maybe sometime down the road I will.  Right now… eh, I’m not going to worry about it.

So I’m going to go back to posting with reckless abandon.  Once again it’s just me and my thoughts — back to what I originally wanted to do.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Musings, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Was I Thinking?

  1. Well, I like this post! Ironic isn’t it? I love the refreshing honesty and the reckless abandon of putting thoughts out there. Many a time have I shared the same mind-rumblings, and my husband, too, has been known to proof-read my contributions before I publish them, just in case they weren’t “entertaining enough.” Pathetic. But your post is a reminder as to why so many writers begin writing in the first place. Throw caution to the wind and write for writing’s sake! Well done and well said. 🙂

  2. This is really honest blog and I like your writing style.

  3. Jody Moller says:

    Thanks Tiffany, I needed this post. It helps to remind me to stop checking the ‘dashboard’ everytime I log onto my computer – it doesn’t matter how many people view my blog and leave a comment – what matters is that I am out engaging in the writing community…

  4. D.J. Lutz says:

    I’m with you! I have had so many people tell me how I should be writing and some that read my drafts and say things like “you should go back to your normal voice.” I’m not sure where my “normal” voice is these days, but I think I will go back to having fun with random posts, too. As for my “real” writing, I will just keep that private and someday allow people to read it without knowing who wrote it. May be the only way to hear what people really think about it.

    • T. R. Kolbe says:

      It’s hard when people offer advice because it often leads to confusion and second-guessing. Sometimes I feel completely lost and have no idea what I’m doing. Hopefully random posts will help you find your voice again.

Leave a Reply

