Goals — blech!

Is there anything so wrong with not wanting to set goals?  In practically every writing book I read it talks about setting goals.  Truth be told, when anyone mentions the word, it make me want to claw their eyes out.  Although I’ve mellowed out a bit in my advancing age.

The thing is when I was younger, I worked as a dance instructor.  My boss and his wife (she was the receptionist, maybe co-owner too) were constantly talking about setting goals.  There was always so much pressure to sell lessons, increasingly so once I was the only female instructor.  Goals, goals, goals.  That’s all he ever talked about.  See, I was great at setting goals, but with all the pressure to sell, I was pretty lousy at meeting them.  Of course it didn’t help that my mom had just moved out of the house and I needed to make money to support myself.

Needless to say, I left that job on very bad terms.  There was a big fiasco at the end and my boss’ wife threatened to have my step-father killed.  So ever since then I never wanted to set goals.  Sure there were things I wanted to accomplish and somehow I always did, but never by any real planning.   Even now I’m accomplishing the things I want to get done, but I can’t help but wonder if I could be more productive if I set some goals.

Hey, I’ve got two thesauri now, I can just look a different word up.  Ah, here we go ‘aim’.  I like that word.  It’s short and doesn’t remind me of the word goal.  And if I get tired of that word, there’s plenty more to choose from: plan, desire, intent, aspire… just as long as I’m not setting ‘goals’.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Life, Musings, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goals — blech!

  1. D.J. Lutz says:

    I once spent an entire week in “executive decision making” hell with facilitators that we paid good money in order to learn how and why to set goals. After the week was over, I entered the elevator to leave, thinking we spent god knows how much money and we have no goals. But we know how and why to make them! Whatever. My takeaway – don’t set goals, just keep working to get better each day. After all, reaching the top of the mountain isn’t what’s good for us – it’s the journey up that counts!

  2. T. R. Kolbe says:

    Thanks. That’s good advice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

