Social Media… Help!

Is it just me or is anyone else feeling overwhelmed trying to keep up with social media? Right now I’m on Facebook, Twitter, and I have this blog. I just joined Goodreads too, but I haven’t had the time to check out all it has to offer just yet.

Lately I’ve been reading articles on social networking and have been surprised to find that in addition to the sites I just mentioned, many people are on LinkedIn and Google+ in addition to some other sites I’ve never heard of. I find it extremely time consuming to think of things to say on the various sites — Twitter and this blog have been getting most of my attention lately — because many times I just don’t know what to say.

I like to read other blogs, but I rarely make comments because it takes me so long to think of something to say and then type it out so it sounds right and doesn’t make me look stupid and by that time my attention span has wavered and I just give up. It gets so time consuming that if I did it on a regular basis, I’d never have time to write.

I know I’m really bad at managing my computer time and apparently so socially inept I don’t know what to say to people, but how do you keep up with all the social media sites? And how many social media sites are you on? I’d love to hear your answers and any tips for keeping up without going crazy. 🙂

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Media… Help!

  1. D.J. Lutz says:

    I had been trying to use all of the social media venues, but I realized that without time to write, what would I social media about? Now I stick mostly with Facebook to keep up with friends and just try to write for my blogs (and get back to my novel.)
    It’s all too much and too many people are saying you have to do it all. Not.

    • T. R. Kolbe says:

      I’ve noticed since I stopped worrying so much about keeping up, I’ve had a lot more time to write and I’m getting a lot more writing done. You’re right, if you don’t have time to write, social media is pointless. Right now I think I’ll focus on my writing and only make posts when I have something I want to say.

  2. When I first started I had trouble finding the balance. I was determined to blog every single day and spent countless hours on social media. I realised my regular writing was suffering.

    Now I use the networked blogs widget which posts my blog posts to my facebook and twitter accounts. I do not use any of the other social media sites. I try to check my facebook and twitter pages once a day. I add new follows send a few messages to friends and respond to any messages from others. I check my blog daily for comments and post to it when I feel inspired.

    I sometimes feel guilty that I am not doing more but most of my followers are in the same situation so they understand. My writing no longer suffers, I have been much more productive. Hopefully the natural balance will find its way to you too.

    • T. R. Kolbe says:

      Thanks Billie Jo. I think I will use the widgets on WordPress and Twitter to post to my Facebook account. I so rarely use FB because it’s too time consuming. Maybe this way I can work my way back into it and still have time to write.

Leave a Reply

