Nook Simple Touch

I finally did it. I broke down and purchased an e-reader. I’m not even sure why. I like books. I like the feeling of opening up a book, knowing I’m in for a new adventure. Diving deeper into a new world with each page I turn. When I open a book, I feel like Harry Potter when he opened Tom Riddle’s diary and got sucked into a different world. How could I get that feeling from an e-reader?

It all started when I received a $25 gift card from Barnes & Noble. For days I contemplated which books I wanted to buy (there are so many books that I want that it actually takes a few days to figure out exactly which ones to get). One day my husband suggested, “Why don’t you get a Nook?” It was Thanksgiving week and the Nooks would be on sale Friday. I had a few Nook books on my computer I had gotten for free and just wasn’t reading. I wondered if I would even use the Nook that much after I got through those books. Maybe I wouldn’t even like it.

So I did two things I never thought I would do. I went shopping on Black Friday and I bought a Nook.

I hate shopping and I hate crowds even more, so to go out on a Black Friday (to get a Nook no less) was a huge deal. We left the house at 8:45 am. With barely any traffic on the road and not too many customers in the store, I bought the Nook and came home.

Not even bothering with the free books, I got a sample of 11/22/63 by Stephen King. I read through the sample so fast that I decided to purchase the e-book. It seemed like a good idea since the book is over 900 pages and in hardcover–kind of heavy to tote around.

Well, as it turns out, I LOVE my Nook. A good story is a good story and I’ll get sucked in no matter how I’m reading it. Plus I can make the font as big as I want and have everything double spaced like I’m reading a manuscript (which makes reading surprisingly fast).

I don’t regret my purchase for one minute and can’t believe I didn’t do it sooner. While I still love regular books, I now know I have room in my life for both.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Books, Nook, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nook Simple Touch

  1. petedenton says:

    I recently bought an e-reader to read all the e-books floating around out there. Good to hear you love it already. Happy reading.

  2. D.J. Lutz says:

    I have a Nook Color, and enjoy it also. I like the fact that I can carry a library with me when I travel. Just don’t let the battery drain to zero charge. I did and it would not hold a charge at all then. Had to get a replacement.

    • T. R. Kolbe says:

      I got your post about five minutes after I let my battery drain and started to charge it. So far, I haven’t had an issue with the charge, but then it has only been a day. Hopefully your battery was just an isolated incident, but I won’t let mine drain again. Thanks for the advice.

Leave a Reply

