Book Review: 11/22/63 by Stephen King

11/22/6311/22/63 by Stephen King
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. It was one of those books that is so good you just drop everything to read it. The story is about a man, Jake Epping (AKA George Amberson) who travels back in time by way of a “rabbit hole” to the past. He is told about the rabbit hole by his friend Al Templeton who found the hole in his diner and tried and failed to save Kennedy himself. Dying of lung cancer and unable to do it himself, he tasks Jake with the job of saving JFK. He can go back to the past as often as he chooses with one catch: each time he goes back to the past, time resets itself and any changes he has made in the past will be undone. He also always comes into the past in 1958 and no matter how long he spends in there, only two minutes will have passed in 2011.

Jake has five years to spend in the past, making a life for himself while also spying on Oswald and making sure he actually did act alone. Jake meets a woman in the past named Sadie who turns out to be the love of his life. I found the parts about Jake and his new life much more intriguing than the parts about Oswald and his life. In fact, I almost didn’t buy the book because I thought it revolved entirely around the JFK assassination. I think the book is equal parts JFK/Oswald mixed with Jake and his life outside of that.

King tells a great story, giving just enough detail to set the story, but not bogging it down. I especially liked that part of the book took place in Derry and all the references to “IT” (another great book). It’s a long book (over 900 pages), but it pulls you through and makes for a quick read.

View all my reviews

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: 11/22/63 by Stephen King

  1. bibliopirate says:

    Sounds like a fun read, believe it or not I haven’t gotten to anything by King yet.

Leave a Reply

