Running–Starting Over Part 1

The last time I ran regularly was more than twenty years ago. I was still in high school and

Finishing up our run and watching the moon rise over the mountains.

I’d get up every morning during summer break at 5am to go for a run. I ran in the park across the street from where I lived–Greenfield Park. The park was (still is) huge. Big enough to have its own golf course, woods to get lost in, a swimming pool (I believe they turned it into a water park since), a lagoon I used to ice skate on in the winter, and a little playground.

I would run for an hour or two amongst the elderly out for their daily walks, including my grandfather whom I would run into from time to time. I’d watch the sunrise and the ducks swimming in the lagoon and the swimming pool. It was probably some of my best memories from high school. Unfortunately, once my senior year started I stopped.

Throughout the years, I tried to get back into the habit, but it never seemed to stick. This year (I’m hoping) is going to be the year. I started running again on January first. What finally pushed me into it this time? I was inspired by a book I read. Ultramarathon Man by Dean Karnazes. It reminded me how much I enjoyed running and finally got me back out there. My husband even agreed to run with me even though he doesn’t like running all that much.

While I haven’t been as regular as I would like, I have kept it up. And it hasn’t always been easy. Muscle aches and pains, fatigue, headaches (in Part 2 of this post, I will talk about what I experienced during these past four weeks). It’s hard getting back into it after all these years because I didn’t have these problems when I was younger. Yet I still enjoy it. It makes me feel good both physically and mentally. To help keep me motivated, I signed up for a 5K on St. Patrick’s Day. It’s not always easy, but nothing worthwhile ever is.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running–Starting Over Part 1

  1. DrRachelRuns says:

    I hope you stick with it. My mom began running at 56 and she loves it…it’s never too late. 🙂

    • T. R. Kolbe says:

      Thank you. I think that’s great that your mom started running at 56. The only thing I’m worried about is summer when temperatures get above 100 and fall when we have wind advisories nearly every day. If I can keep running then, I should be able to stick with it.

  2. Pingback: The Not-So-Famous Bumbungan Eco-Park | Stories of My Wandering Feet (& Mind)

Leave a Reply

