Vibram FiveFingers–Bikala LS

I meant to post this last week, but I was focused on my novel. I got a lot of writing done and spent very little time on the computer. The good news is I’m that much closer to finishing my first draft.

This is Part 2 of Finding Just The Right Running Shoe. As I mentioned in my last post, I hurt the top of my foot while trail running in my new shoes. I had already taken nearly a week off from running and I was desperate for something to help it. I suppose I could have gone to see a doctor, but that seemed pointless and I hate going to the doctor’s office. I started walking around in bare feet (as opposed to slippers–the joys of working from home) because I noticed when my feet could feel the floor, I walked better and my foot hurt less. At the same time, I happened to be reading Born to Run (click here if you don’t know what it’s about). I was on the part about Barefoot Ted and his FiveFingers shoes when I thought: hey, those might work for me.

I’ve seen these shoes before and I always thought they looked ridiculous. But, ridiculousness aside, my foot hurt, and if these shoes could help, why not give them a try. So that same day I went to REI to go get a pair. Normally I don’t buy things so impulsively. One, because I don’t have money to throw around and two, because I like to think things through. I don’t want to buy something on a whim and then never use it (something I’ve done all too often in the past).

I tried on several different pairs. At first it was nearly impossible to them on. My toes didn’t want to go where they were suppose to–either they were in the wrong toe hole or two of them tried to share a spot. The more pairs I tried on, the easier it was to put them on. It was a little weird at first, walking around with my toes separated, but the more I walked around, the better they felt (and the better my foot felt). I finally decided on the Bikala LS–a road running shoe. I walked in them for a few days to break them in and the ball of my foot felt so much better. By the third day, I decided to try running in them. I took it slow and only ran a short distance. My foot didn’t hurt at all while running. Of course, it did hurt afterwards, but not as much.

I feel like my running form has improved dramatically. I ran as far as two miles in these shoes and my feet felt great. Then I made the mistake of doing too much too soon. I decided to try for three miles and hurt the top of my right foot. I finally found it this is common in people who run barefoot (or barefoot-like) and do too much too soon. Ah well, I guess I need to learn to take it easy.

I still like these shoes though. I can feel the ground underneath me, which helps me run better. If I take it slower, I’m sure they’ll be a great addition to my ever-growing shoe collection.

 

 

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Running, Shoes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vibram FiveFingers–Bikala LS

  1. Nicole says:

    I got my first pair recently as well thanks to a couple of holiday gift certificates. I can’t believe how much lighter my feet feel when I wear them. I haven’t had any injuries for a long time, so I’m really trying to take it slow and wear my regular shoes for most runs, but I look forward to my first “barefoot” trial race! I’m sure I’ll feel fast no matter what my finish time is 🙂

    • T. R. Kolbe says:

      Definitely take it slow. With the lightness of the VFF, I felt like I could run forever–big mistake! My left foot took nearly a month to fully heal and my right foot is still in the process. I started running in my regular running shoes to help my foot heal, but now I can’t stand the bulkiness of them. I’d love to hear how they work out for you in a race.

Leave a Reply

