5 Great Reasons to Attend a Writers Conference

It’s been awhile since my last post. In March, I had a sinus infection and was given an antibiotic that I had a really bad reaction to. I have been off the medicine since March 16th, but have still been experiencing side effects from it, just not as severe. Anyway, I’m starting to feel better now… so, on to today’s post.

Conference season is well under way, maybe even coming to an end. If you’re still wondering whether or not to attend, here are five reasons why I think you should.

1. You will learn more than you ever thought you could.

I just attended a conference and learned so much information. I found it easier to absorb when a real person was explaining it to me (as opposed to just reading it in a book) and giving me examples. Hearing personal experiences and examples is not only helpful, but motivating too.

2. It’s a great opportunity to network.

It’s nice to meet other writers and get a chance to talk to people who are going through the same things you are going through. Whether you are trying to finish a novel, get work published, or are already published, it is wonderful to be able to share your experiences with others and maybe even be a little inspired by what others have accomplished.

3. You get to talk to agents and other publishing folk in a relaxed setting.

It’s great to be able to talk to the people in the publishing world as people you can learn a thing or two from, not as people who can make or break your career. If you’re pitching a book, it might be different. You might always be a bundle of nerves around the publishing folk, but if that’s the case, I think you might be missing out on some real opportunities to get to know people and get help on your work. Since I was not pitching a book, it was easy for me to talk to a publisher about my book because I wasn’t trying to sell it (I’m not even finished with it) and I got some much needed advice.

4. You will be inspired to finish your novel.

With all the advice and tips I received, I’m ready to sit down and finish my novel and you might be too. When all you think about for the length of the conference is writing it’s hard not to be. Anything seems possible. Others have done it. You learn how to make it happen. All you have to do is sit down and do it.

5. It’s just plain fun!

As a writer, it’s nice to get out of the house, away from the desk, and get out and socialize with others that are in the same boat. You get a break from the day to day things that may get tedious and your life gets turned upside down for a few days. And if you come to the Las Vegas Writers Conference, you get to gamble if you get bored. What more can you ask for?

I’m sure there are many more reasons why one can attend a conference, but these are just a few that made it worthwhile for me.

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized, Writers Conference, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Great Reasons to Attend a Writers Conference

  1. Pingback: 7 Things I Learned at The Las Vegas Writers Conference | T.R.'s Musings

Leave a Reply

