Taking Time Off

I am excited to say I finished the first draft of my second novel! I started writing it in August of 2011 when a voice in my head would not shut up. There were a lot of ups and downs along the way (the burst water pipe that left me in a hotel for three weeks followed by the death of one of my birds), but in the end it got done. I’m psyched to have completed it and can’t wait to edit it and really bring out the story. After taking two weeks off, it only took one more day of writing to finish it. If I had known that before taking the time off, I would have taken a day to do the writing, but hindsight and all that.

Lake Mead

I took the time off because my mom came to visit me for nearly a week on May 7th. She came without her husband so we could spend some time together–just the two of us. The last time that happened was over ten years ago. I had a great time, but my life was sort of put on hold. I did not write, run, or do any social media. Not even any reading (though I did buy four new books when we went to the bookstore). I did not think about my novel at all except to think that I was not writing it.

Needless to say, getting back into the swing of things has not been easy. It took me a week after my mom left to go back to work on my novel. Mainly because I had no idea where I left off in the story. Eventually I had to read the last two scenes I wrote to figure out what was going on.

Running was easy. I got back out on the trail the day after she left.

Getting back into social media has proved far more difficult. I can’t seem to concentrate long enough to write 140 characters on Twitter, much less come up with a blog topic. My new mantra has become: “I’ll do it later”. Only problem is, later never comes.

So this week I’m going to make an effort to schedule in the things I want to do and stop putting them off. I’m going to try to keep up with once a week blog posts and spend more time reading blogs and tweets. (Notice I said “try” not “do”. That’s because even as I write this, I’m not feeling too confident in my success. Maybe my new mantra should be: “I WILL do this now!”)

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Novels, Running, Social Media, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

