Book Review–Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Sharp ObjectsSharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I couldn’t decide whether to give this book three or four stars. The story is told from the point of view of Camille Preaker, a journalist who travels back to her hometown to cover the story of two young girls that were murdered. None of the characters in this book were likeable, including Camille. It would have been nice for at least one character to have some redeeming value, but I found that lacking in all the characters, even the murdered girls. And while the two girls didn’t deserve to die, I didn’t think their deaths would be any real loss to society. The story left me feeling depressed the whole time I was reading it (quite honestly, I was glad when I finished it), yet I could not seem to put it down. The story pulled me through, it was well-written, and I liked the ending, which is why I ended up giving it four stars. I also liked it enough to purchase her other two books even though I’ve read she has a predilection for writing despicable characters.

View all my reviews

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Novels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

