Book Review–An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro

An Artist of the Floating WorldAn Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A great book I really enjoyed. I love Ishiguro’s writing–always beautiful and elegant. This is a tale of a painter named Ono looking back on his life right before and during the second world war while also trying to arrange a marriage for his second daughter. Ono is another unreliable narrator, just like the narrator in Ishiguro’s first book, and it’s interesting to read his thoughts and views, always wondering how accurate they really are. Highly recommend. I’m looking forward to reading “The Remains of the Day” next. I read in an interview with Ishiguro that it is a more complete version of his first two books–“A Pale View of the Hills” and “An Artist of the Floating World”.

View all my reviews

About T. R. Kolbe

I have been writing since July 2010. I wrote one novel although I haven't finished editing it and I don't know that I will. I have also completed 3 short stories and have 3 more that I am working on.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Novels, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

